Certifications for IAM Level II and III: CISSP, Security+, CISM and CRISC

What is IAM Level II and III?

As we dive deeper into the subject, it’s essential to grasp what IAM Level II and III actually mean in the world of Information Assurance Management. These are not just any ordinary certifications. They’re far-reaching acknowledgments of an individual’s prowess in managing and safeguarding precious data.

IAM Level II signifies an intermediate level of skills and knowledge in IAM. The Level II certification validates an individual’s ability to:

  • Provide oversight for system level design
  • Implement and design security systems
  • Integrate security systems with business goals
  • Ensure compliance with regulatory standards

IAM Level III, on the other hand, corresponds to an advanced level of knowledge and skills. It’s the highest level in the IAM hierarchy. A Level III certification provides evidence of an individual’s suitability to:

  • Establish design constraints based on industry standards
  • Steer strategic security decisions to meet business objectives
  • Shape policies and design controls to manage risks
  • Offer constructive guidance on complex system development projects

Which of the Following Certifications Would Satisfy IAM Level II and IAM Level III?

Moving forward into the details of IAM Level II certifications, there are several noteworthy options that perform exceedingly well in evaluating and endorsing one’s expertise in security implementation, system design, and compliance. Let’s dig deeper into a couple of these vital certifications.

Certification 1: Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Candidates pursuing the CISSP certification must have at least five years of full-time work experience, in at least two of the eight domains outlined in the (ISC)² CISSP common body of knowledge (CBK). These domains are:

  • Security and Risk Management
  • Asset Security
  • Security Architecture and Engineering
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Identity and Access Management
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Security Operations
  • Software Development Security

The CISSP isn’t just a test of skills and knowledge; it’s a confirmation of one’s commitment to security excellence and a globally recognized indicator of accomplishment in the realm of cybersecurity.

Certification 2: CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ Certification is another IAM Level II consistent certification. It is a globally recognized credential ensuring baseline skills needed to perform core security functions. It also opens doors for cybersecurity careers.

Accredited by ANSI, it fits well within the Department of Defense (DoD) 8570 compliance. Candidates pursuing CompTIA Security+ certification are taught to handle complex issues and think more critically about different scenarios. This goes beyond just the technical security skills and touches practical problem-solving abilities, setting Security+ apart from its contemporaries.

Covering domains like networks, devices, identity and access management, and penetration testing, CompTIA Security+ provides training on:

  • Attacks, Threats, and Vulnerabilities
  • Architecture and Design
  • Implementation
  • Operations and Incident Response
  • Governance, Risk, and Compliance

Certifications for IAM Level III

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The CISM (Certified Information Security Manager) certification is one awarded by ISACA and is globally acclaimed as a leading credential for management. Unlike most certifications, the CISM doesn’t only focus on technical skills. Instead, it bridges the gap between information security management and enterprise management.

To qualify for this certification, ISACA requires a minimum of five years of work experience, with at least three years of experience in at least three out of the four CISM domains. The domains include:

  • Information Security Governance
  • Information Risk Management
  • Information Security Program Development and Management
  • Information Security Incident Management

Noteworthy, the CISM certification is often associated with higher earning potential. In many cases, employers value this certification when searching for potential candidates, making it a worthy investment.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

Coming from the same governing body as the CISM, the CRISC (Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control) is another prominent certification within the IAM realm. This certification is designed for professionals who identify and manage enterprise IT risk, and implement and maintain information systems controls.

The CRISC aims at preparing and enabling IT professionals for the unique challenges of IT and enterprise risk management, and positions them to become strategic partners to the enterprise.

Similar to the CISM, ISACA requires candidates to have a minimum of three years of work experience in at least two out of the four CRISC domains, which include:

  • Identifying IT Risk
  • Assessing IT Risk
  • Risk Response and Mitigation
  • Risk and Control Monitoring and Reporting

As the crux of it all, both the CISM and CRISC certifications are inherently valuable in one’s pursuit of IAM Level III. They validate an individual’s deep understanding of existing trends and technologies in the field. These advanced certifications are more than just resume boasts, they elevate Information Assurance Management expertise, making them worth the investment.